top of page
  • Writer's pictureARJUN RAGHUNANDANAN

Food for the poor : Random Acts of Kindness in Thrissur City

Good & Exciting News Everybody! Today we were able to deliver food to people in need during the lockdown in thrissur town as a part of Kerala Civil Defense Volunteer Activity. I would like to share my experience from this but before that, I would like to share some cherishing memories related to this.

Firstly let me share that unlike past few days,weeks & months I was able to do something that I have always considered very important for the growth of my social services interest. I have been assisting in such activities as early as around 2012 back when I had my cycle.

As as part of the project called Narayana Seva conducted by Sri Sathya Sai Seva Organisation, we used to go around swaraj round in the evenings of certain days of the week and provide food to 10-15 people. Somedays we would walk, someday we would be on our cycles and then it got upgraded to travelling in my scooter with food in the front. We used to go to regular locations around Thrissur Town where we know there would be people sitting and ask around if they had food. If not we would give them food (and Not money for food because we had certain personal & organisational policies to not give by cash ). We also had another activity where we would deliver morning breakfast at Thrissur District Hospital on every sundays & Monthly visits at Juvinile Home, Oldage Home & other Autistic Care Centres. These activities helped me a lot to develop my interest in social service activities since childhood. I will post about them some day else.

since 2019, restrictions in due to spread of covid became tight and we had to stop these activity and I can vouch for myself to be very depressed as I was not able to do these activities. Joining Civil Defense & helping out in covid helped me get through these depressions hence I love staying a part of this community. Yesterday our post-warden reached out to me to enquire if I am interested in delivering food in town as I live close to town and I said I would definitely be there. Today, There were 6 of us with 20 packets of food as a start because we didn't have an expectation of how many people would be in town these times. 3 of us were from civil defense and 3 of them were from another organisation. We only spend less than1 hour and since there was police checking & people being asked about why they are travelling on a sunday lockdown, we thought on not spending much time there wandering.

We spend most of it in the Thrissur Corporation area however if we are going to repeat such a random activity again, we surely like to spread out with more packets of food.

Unimpressively, I didnt get the names of the people who were with me but I introduced myself to them and also told them if ever they are interested in conducting this again, they have my full support and I will be assisting them if they reach out via Civil Defense. From Civil Defense, there were three of us, Me (Arjun Raghunandanan), Sachin Babu and Godson and we gathered infront of Vadakkunathan Temple at around 11:30 am and finished up by 12:30 noon


Photos of the event



Wrapping Up,

I used to be a mind of person who doesn't actually show interest like taking photos of social services activities that includes general public and I still do keep most of my own random social services activities out of social media promotions. For events that I do as a part of organisations or events that consists of permissions and reports, I am ok with photography. This time I was in the spotlight of few pictures because on of our team members had a camera and we had to keep records of our activities in order to present activity report of Civil Defense Activities. Hence I am sharing few of them here. I hope someone feels inspired by all these and one day do it by themselves. Also I do plan to keep this going at a random pace and is open to any personal collaborations with any other people who would like to do such services. That would be all for this post. I will see you in another post on another day.


Till then,.

Listen to your Heart; Live your life the way you feel.

Comments


bottom of page