top of page
  • Writer's pictureARJUN RAGHUNANDANAN

A look-back into my Academics : in a Capsule

Hey guys, in-case someone end up reading this and thinks why am i posting all these in my blog page, let me explain in one paragraph.


The past 3 years since I joined to pursue my bachelors degree was supposed to be the period where I gather as much knowledge as possible from engineering books, faculty and the college resources. But by the 6th semester I ended up understanding that I have pretty much ruined it till now at a bad-enough degree attainable by me. I was planning to write about how these things have been going till now, so that I can try to clear out these issues, and maybe help out or reach out to other people who are in a similar situation as mine. I hope this doesn't end up stopping after a few posts like my previous versions for this website. (which you cannot find because I have this habit of deleting website and starting from scratch when I reach a bottleneck. I hope this time, I end up improving on that decision too ) Anyway let me start with a table of how my Engineering career has reached a point where I need to take matters seriously in order to make sure that I don't end up dropping out without any alternate plans in my career.

Here is the status of my past 6 semesters : -


My First Semester

MA101 - CALCULUS

I still have not cleared this subject even after several tries. Its something about doing math provlems that I have still not been able to cope with.

PH100 - ENGINEERING PHYSICS

I did not clear this subject at first, but I couldn't believe how I ended up losing on of my favourite science subjects, so I requested for a result revaluation and this time I passed the exam.

BE100 - ENGINEERING MECHANICS

I could not clear this subject till now, but a re-exam chance is coming up in 2 week where I hope I can clear this. I don't know, I just don't like doing problems and end up making mistakes on exam paper even though It makes sense when I hear lectures in the class.

BE10105 - INTRODUCTION TO COMPUTING AND PROBLEM SOLVING

This was the first subject in engineering academics that i liked so much. It was something about learning Python Programming that seemed right up my alley. I cleared this subject and the faculty which took this subject is still in the list of my favourite teachers since I joined B.Tech. He also inspired me to do several online courses, which I really like to do.

BE103 - INTRODUCTION TO SUSTAINABLE ENGINEERING

One of my favourite subjects because this was the subject where a common environmental ethics came to merge with technology. This whole subject dealt with what all environmental, economical and social factors to consider when developing or implementing anything.

EE100 - BASICS OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING

Well, as a person who has been tinkering with circuits, toys, mobiles internals, PC parts, Electrical components etc from my childhood. I loved this subject so much and almost everything taught in this course was things that I was familiar with for a long time. I cleared this subject so easily even though I had few issues with the teacher as I didn't like writing long assigments and hence it was difficult for the tutor to get me to do it.

PH110 - ENGINEERING PHYSICS LAB

Other than delayed submissions of written records and my recurring habit of performing bad in tests, it took a bit of struggle but cleared the lab in first trial itself.

EE110 - ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING WORKSHOP

Easy Peasy, This was so easy to complete because I am pretty good with wiring things and working with hardware tools. I felt like this whole lab work a mini-guide on how to be an electrician. I think I nailed it

CS110 - COMPUTER SCIENCE WORKSHOP

This also felt way easier because it was just introduction to basic programming and how to do programming stuff on the computer. It gave introduction to simple programs. Other than the issues regarding delayed submissons of record, ( because you know, Me; Writing; Old Habits; ). anyway, it was easy to pass.


My Second Semester

MA102 - DIFFERENTIAL EQUATIONS

Oh My God, where to start, since high school I thought I was very good in mathematics, and after Calculus and now at Differential Equation. I was fed up. I don't know, it was just like I started to not like doing maths even though I liked the concept everything going better when its implied in a beautiful mathematical equation. I loved watching youtube lectures on Integrals, Patterns, Analytics and Data visualisation using mathematics. I didn't submit any assignments, I lost interest in completing answer sheet and stopped in between, The Tutor didn't like this behaviour and in the end, I ended up getting a Course-Back in this subject which basically means, I became ineligible to appear for the University exam because of my Lack of Interest in submitting written assigments and writing a lot in answer sheets.

CY100 - ENGINEERING CHEMISTRY

This was supposedly another of my favourite subjects after physics but that was in highschool. I then got into liking Physics more, I should have passed this subject because it was so easy and I would always answer absolutely everything in class when asked to. But yet again, Writing, Being a very important part of this educational system in which I am currently part of, decided, that I shouldn't be passing exams just because I know stuff and doesn't like writing it. I can't stress this out more, I just didn't like Writing, its so tiring and boring.

Also, at this point, you may have understood a few about my likes and dislikes, so I should stop explaining for each subject

BE110 - ENGINEERING GRAPHICS

Loves it, I love Drawing vectors and graphics into paper, hence there's no way I wouldn't pass this

BE102 - DESIGN & ENGINEERING

I really Like Inoovation, I really Love Designing and coming up with new Ideas so this pretty much wasn't an issue. plus, the Tutor for this subject wasn't going to give much extensive writings, so there's no way I won't enjoy this subject

CY110 - ENGINEERING CHEMISTRY LAB

Apart from writing and submitting records, This was good

EC100 - BASICS OF ELECTRONICS ENGINEERING

Again, Electronics? Circuits? Yeah... This was easy.

EC110 - ELECTRONICS ENGINEERING WORKSHOP

Easy again. It was mostly just Breadboard and soldering and explaining circuit parts. I really like these stuff

CS120 - COMPUTER PROGRAMMING LAB

This also, programming was easy but I was a bit lazy on submitting records so, tutors did start finding me co-operative ands difficult to cope with.

CS100 - BASICS OF COMPUTER PROGRAMMING

This was easy. My teacher would say otherwise because I was caught sleeping in class and showing less interest in doing HW. honestly I was busy. I really liked Online courses and learning from Youtube tutorials, Sometimes more than direct class. So I spend a lot of time learning stuff at home. Sometimes very late at night. This, caused me to feel sleepy during day-time and as a result it was a bit difficult.


My Third Semester

MA201 - LINEAR ALGEBRA & COMPLEX ANALYSIS

I don't know how to say this, but I liked Linear Algebra, concepts of Higher Dimensional calculations, Matrix Calculations, Imaginary Number problems etc but somehow, my lack of interest in writing and solving problems by hand caught up to me this time too, I just couldn't finish writing problems as I make silly mistakes in calculations every time and loose track of the solution in between. By this time I really lost my interest in "Writing" in general.

Let me explain other subjects in short ,

if (TooManyWriting==True):
	SubjectResult=fail
	print("I wrote less in this subject, didn't write exams well, didn't submit assignments, Slept in class")
else:
	SubjectResult=pass
	print("It had less to write, more application level and scope for practical understanding, I liked this subject")

CS201 - DISCRETE COMPUTATIONAL STRUCTURES

CS203 - SWITCHING THEORY AND LOGIC DESIGN

CS205 - DATA STRUCTURES

CS207 - ELECTRONICS DEVICES & CIRCUITS

HS210 - LIFE SKILLS

CS231 - DATA STRUCTURES LAB

CS233 - ELECTRONICS CIRCUITS LAB


My Fourth Semester - This whole semester can be considered as CONDITIONAL FAILURE

MA202 - PROBABILITY DISTRIBUTIONS, TRANSFORMS AND NUMERICAL METHODS

CS202 - COMPUTER ORGANIZATION AND ARCHITECTURE

CS204 - OPERATING SYSTEMS

CS206 - OBJECT ORIENTED DESIGN AND PROGRAMMING

CS208 - PRINCIPLES OF DATABASE DESIGN

HS200 - BUSINESS ECONOMICS

CS232 - FREE AND OPEN SOURCE SOFTWARE LAB

CS234 - DIGITAL SYSTEMS LAB


This was because during the later half of this semester, COVID-19 popped up and as a result all classes switched to online.It was OK at first but then slowly I strated getting bored of this method. There was a lot of difference between excelling in online courses and attending Btech Subject Lectures through Google Meet. I already have issues focusing in direct class as I keep thinking of studd in my mind and loose track of class. Add this online lecture to this mix, I always failed to keep my focus in Google Meet. I completed Professional Certificate courses on Coursera and other online course platforms. I also increased the rate of participation in covid related community service activities. I thought I can do my part in helping during this pandemic and then study and pass the university exams by the last month. I could've cleared some subjects in this semester by studying fast in the last months before exam, but our University decided that, in order to ensure a fair continuation of semesters, they should take the average SGPA of past 3 semesters and if the student reached a slab of 4.33 average SGPA, they will be considered "Pass" in fourth semester and if they did not reach that slab, we will have a "Withheld" status and from my past academics, it is clear that I did not make the cut. So I got 6 Withheld status. Since I haven't reached the required SPGA slab till now, It will most probably become 6 Back-Logs by the end of this semester. 2 Lab Subjects were skipped by the University, So I have 2 cleared subjects here.

Things were getting seriosly out of hand by now.


My Fifth Semester & Sixth Semester ( this is when I am Writing this blog post )

CS301 - THEORY OF COMPUTATION

CS303 - SYSTEM SOFTWARE

CS305 - MICROPROCESSORS AND MICROCONTROLLERS

CS307 - DATA COMMUNICATION

CS309 - GRAPH THEORY AND COMBINATORICS

CS361 - SOFT COMPUTING

CS341 - DESIGN PROJECT

CS331 - SYSTEM SOFTWARE LAB

CS333 - APPLICATION SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT LAB


CS302 - DESIGN AND ANALYSIS OF ALGORITHMS

CS304 - COMPILER DESIGN

CS306 - COMPUTER NETWORKS

CS308 - SOFTWARE ENGINEERING AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT

HS300 - PRINCIPLES OF MANAGEMENT

CS368 - WEB TECHNOLOGIES

CS332 - MICROPROCESSOR LAB

CS334 - NETWORK PROGRAMMING LAB

CS352 - COMPREHENSIVE EXAM

The situation of fifth semester is as above but I dont know how the sixth semester is going to end up, but from the past months of performance I have a pretty good insight that it is going the wrong direction. During this covid pandemic period, I think most of the students got back to their learning track and got used to learning through Google Meet class sessions and they all have a good enough mindset to keep attending classes to get the required attendance. As for me, I Enjoyed serving as front line worker, delivering medicines to Covid patients, transporting supplies to the people in need, arranging educational support such as second hand phones, laptops, operating systems, etc for nearby primary school and high schol students who were not technically or financially sound, and so on, I didn't focus on my academics. I was already part of Sri Sathya Sai Seva Organisation which is primarily a Spiritual & Service organisation and Kerala Civil Defense which is a Govt lead Community Volunteer initiative under Kerala Fire & Rescue Department. I served more time in these activities and I enjoyed a lot while serving people in need. I also became part of Blood Donation Clubs and helped them in various Technical ways to make sure the Whatsapp based Blood Donation group can work & grow in a Technically stable way during this socially-distant Period. I worked at H&C Stores as a consultant for their online marketing strategies for a few months so that I can use the extra money. I also did freelance Digital Consulting work for a handful of local shops, as this helped me collect money for my extra needs such as internet fee, domain registration, hosting fee, utility purchases, soft drinks etc and yeah, a bit of junkfoods and online shopping. I failed to attend classes as I did not like sitting at home infront of phone or laptop starting at the Google Meet screen. I missed a lot of classes. I didn't submit Written assignments as usual which triggered a lot of teachers this semester and I am certainly in most of their Bad-Student list. The were furious as they didn't find my mindset any good even though I was enjoying the way I had been helpful to a large number of people in this pandemic. As of now, I am in a situation because my lack of attendance, assignment submission and intermediate test results were bad, I am considered as Ineligible to write university exams in atleast 5 subjects in this semester, and now that I have realised that this is going to be a pain in the future, I guess it is not easy to get back to the positive list of the tutors even thoug few of them gave me multiple chances to improve in which I managed to utilise only few. . . Yeah! Things are going bad right now. Real bad.


My Seventh & Eighth Semester ( Coming Up... Unless I screw up things more that my current situation )


I hope to see Good Things here, let us wait and see what comes up.



Wrapping Up,

Incase someone was patient enough to go through all this things, I would like to express that the things that I wrote down above is a kind of approach that I am trying to take in order to find my inner feeling. I wanted to write down and see on how things have been up until now, and how I need it to be in the future. If you find these helpful or insightful, do mention them to me. That would be all for this post. I will see you in another post on another day.

Till then,.


Listen to your Heart; Live your life the way you feel.
44 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page